Built for Students, by Students

Help verify tuition, housing costs, and campus life data

Private for-profit, 4-Year
San Luis Obispo, CA

Laurus College

Explore one of the most distinguished institutions in CA. Your pathway to a brighter future begins here.

Annual Tuition

$83,400

Average Sticker Price

Admission Rate

N/A

Selectivity Level

Graduation Rate

42.5%

Completion Success

Median Earnings

$30,896

10y Career Outlook

About Institution

Laurus College is a distinguished Private for-profit, 4-Year institution located in San Luis Obispo, CA. With a competitive tuition profile of $83,400, it remains an attractive choice for ambitious students. A strong graduation rate of 42.5% underscores its academic rigor and effective student support systems.

Investment Return

Estimated College ROI Analysis

Total 4-Year Cost

$333,600

Based on sticker tuition

Estimated Payback

372.3 yrs

Time to recoup investment

Annual Earnings Boost

+$896

vs. $30k HS diploma baseline

10-Year Net Gain

-$324,640

Cumulative earnings advantage minus total college cost

20-Year Net Gain

-$315,680

Long-term projected return on your education investment

Graduation Rate: 42%

Students who don't graduate may still carry debt without the full earnings benefit. Consider program-specific outcomes in the Career Paths section below.

ROI estimates use the BLS national median of $30,000/yr for high school diploma holders as a baseline. Actual results vary based on major, career path, location, and individual circumstances. Median graduate debt at Laurus College is $32,416.

Student Community

Gender Balance

Women
Men
23.7%
76.3%
FemininityMasculinity

Ethnic Diversity

Asian
48.4%
Hispanic
19.1%
White
14.5%
Black
11.5%
Unknown
3.0%
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander
1.8%
Two or more
1.4%
American Indian / Alaska Native
0.4%
International
0.0%

Security Audit

Safety Rating: 3-Year Aggregate

Incidents

0

Burglary

0

Theft

0

Assault

0

Robbery

0

Rape

0

Arson

0

Murder

0

Financial Outlook

Total Sticker Price

$83,400

Estimated cost before aid.

Net Price By Income

$0 - $30k$15,629
$30k - $48k$15,916
$48k - $75kNot Reported
$75k+Not Reported

Debt & Financial Aid

Median Debt (grads)$32,416
Pell Grant Recipients67.4%
Using Federal Loans62.8%
Historical 3yr Loan Repayment29.2%

Repayment measured in 2016–17; this federal measure was discontinued.

Grant Aid (IPEDS 2021)

Avg. Federal Grant$4,099
Avg. Pell Grant$4,537
Students Receiving Grants16.0%

* Most students receive significant grants and scholarships, reducing the actual cost. Grant data from IPEDS Student Financial Aid survey.

Quick Overview

Faculty Ratio

N/A

Retention

92.1%

Success

42.5%

In-State Cost

$83,400

Age 25+ Students

95.8%

Carnegie Class

Carnegie 14

Working at 6yr

640 students

Security Benchmark

Campus vs. City Comparison (Per 100k)

Violent Offenses

PER 100K
On-Campus0.0
San Luis Obispo (City-wide)0.0

Property Crimes

PER 100K
On-Campus0.0
San Luis Obispo (City-wide)0.0

Stats sourced from institutional reports and municipal data. These rates provide a standardized baseline for comparing safety across different environments.

Living In San Luis Obispo

Off-Campus Market Estimator

Current Fair Market Rents
🏠

Studio

$1,541

Monthly Average

🏢

1 Bedroom

$1,731

Monthly Average

🏘️

2 Bedrooms

$2,274

Monthly Average

🏢

3 Bedrooms

$

Monthly Average

Data provided by HUD Fair Market Rent (FMR). These estimates assist with financial planning for off-campus housing in the San Luis Obispo metropolitan area.